In November 2017, the NSW Sports Awards presentation and the NSW Hall of Champions Induction Ceremony were combined to create the NSW Champions of Sport.

The entire NSW sporting family comes together on one night, to celebrate the year’s achievements of NSW athletes, coaches, officials, administrators and organisations, alongside the states greatest athletes as they join the NSW sporting hall of fame.

The NSW Champions of Sport Ceremony also presents The Waratah Award, which recognises and individual's outstanding long-term contribution to sport in NSW beyond the sporting field and beyond any single year.



Sport NSW has hosted the prestigious NSW Sports Awards program since its inception in 1994. The Sports Awards serve to celebrate outstanding achievements and excellence in NSW sport across various categories, including athletes, teams, coaches, officials, administrators, events and organisations on an annual basis.

The NSW Sports Awards are an important part of the NSW sporting landscape, with previous winner's including Ian Thorpe, Kurt Fearnley, Layne Beachley and more recent winners including Jessica Fox, Lauren Parker and Ellyse Perry.

The 2024 NSW Sports Awards will be presented at the rebel Champions of Sport Ceremomy on Monday, 25 November 2024, nominations for the 2024 Sports Awards will open early September 2024.

2024 NSW Champions of Sport Key dates:

early September 2024 - Nominations open

early October 2024 - NSW Sports awards Nominations close

early October 2024 - event ticket sales to open

mid November 2024 - event ticket sales close




The Hall of Champions, located at Sydney Olympic Park, showcases the stories of sportsmen and women from NSW who have achieved at the highest level of their sport, and the annual induction of new athletes is a celebration of their careers and successes.

Every year, athletes who have achieved at the highest level of their sport are selected for induction. Since 1979, hundreds of sportsmen and women representing over 50 sports have been added to the Honour Roll including sporting icons such as Sir Donald Bradman, Dawn Fraser, Shane Gould and Dally Messenger. More recent champions include Ian Thorpe, Layne Beachley, Michael O’Loughlin and Lauren Jackson.

The NSW Hall of Champions is a sport museum and hall of fame which pays tribute to this state’s greatest sporting successes, and its significant collection helps bring our sporting heritage to life.

Nominations are now being sought from State Sporting Organisations and State Sporting Organisations with a Disability for the 2024 NSW Hall of Champions intake.

Download the Selection Criteria here

Download the Nomination Form here

Please contact if you have any questions



2024 Champions of Sport - Monday, 25 November 2024



2023 Champions of Sport

2022 Champions of Sport

2021 Champions of Sport

2020 Champions of Sport

2019 Champions of Sport

2018 Champions of Sport 

2017 Champions of Sport 

Past award winners 1994 - present