2023 Sports Awards finalists announced

Published Wed 18 Oct 2023

2023 NSW Sports Awards finalists announced


Buy Tickets Now! 

Finalists in each of the 2023 rebel NSW Sports Awards categories have been announced by Sport NSW today.

The 2023 NSW Sports Awards are NSW’s highest sports honours and the 12 category winners will be revealed at the prestigious rebel NSW Champions of Sport Ceremony at the International Convention and Exhibition Centre in Darling Harbour on Monday, November 20.

The Ceremony will be attended by the elite of NSW sport and the Awards celebrate the achievements of NSW athletes, coaches, administrators, officials, and organisations.

The Awards ceremony will also unveil John Forbes (Yachting), Mathew Helm (Diving), Heather Garriock (Football), Brett Lee (Cricket) and David Palmer (Squash), as the newest inductees into the NSW Hall of Champions while Layne Beachley (Surfing) will be elevated to Legend status.

Among the list of category finalists are:

  • Three-time Athlete of the Year with a Disability winner, para-triathlete Lauren Parker, a finalist for Athlete of the Year with a Disability
  • 2021 Young Athlete of the Year with a Disability winner, para-swimmer Timothy Hodgea finalist for Athlete of the Year with a Disability
  • 2017 Athlete of the Year with a Disability, para-cyclist Amanda Reid, a finalist for Athlete of the Year with a Disability
  • Four-time Athlete of the Year winner, paddler Jessica Fox, a finalist for Athlete of the Year
  • Fox’s mother and coach, Myriam Fox-Jerusalmi, a Coach of the Year finalist
  • 2022 Team of the Year, Penrith Panthers National Rugby League Club, a finalist for Team of the Year
  • 2017 Master Athlete of the Year, swimmer Tony Goodwin, a finalist for Masters Athlete of the Year

Sport Chief Executive, Stuart Hodge, congratulated all 61 finalists across the 12 Award categories saying they performed outstandingly and made an immense contribution to their sport.

“These worthy finalists in each category have excelled at the highest levels, and we congratulate them on their magnificent achievements over the past 12 months,” said Hodge.

“These finalists join a magnificent assembly of previous athletes, coaches, administrators, officials, and organisations who have been considered as finalists in the most prestigious sports Awards NSW offers.

“Sport in NSW is blessed to produce so many exceptional athletes, coaches, administrators, and officials. This is a credit to their brilliant individual efforts, but also to the teams of dedicated and unselfish support staff, family, and friends who, behind the scenes, made such an immense contribution.

“Sport is the universal language which binds communities together across NSW. Sport promotes healthy living and drives societal change, and our finalists are wonderful examples of inspiration for athletes, coaches and administrators of all ages and abilities,” he added.

Tickets to the rebel Champions of Sport Ceremony are available to the public by visiting www.sportnsw.com.au

Further information: Greg Campbell, PRISM Strategic Communications, Ph: 0418 239 139


Athlete of the Year

Jack Besgrove - Softball

Caitlin Foord - Football

Jessica Fox OAM - Paddle

Paige Hadley - Netball

Rhiannan Iffland - Diving


Athlete of the Year with a Disability

Ryley Batt OAM - WheelChair Rugby

Tim Hodge - Para Swimming

Dylan Littlehales - Para Paddle

Daniel Michel - Boccia

Lauren Parker - Para Triathlon

Amanda Reid - Para Cycling


Young Athlete of the Year

Delta Amidzovski - Athletics

Jarvis Earle - Surfing

Errol Gulden - AFL

Conner Maggs - Surf Life Saving

Olivia Wunsch - Swimming


Young Athlete of the Year with a Disability

Sara Bergen - Surf Life Saving

Arato Katsuda-Green - Tennis

Mali Lovell - Athletics

Amelia Moore - Swimming

Harrison Nichols - Rowing

Mackenzie Wills - Netball


Masters Athlete of the Year

Nathan Foster - Surf Life Saving

Tony Goodwin - Swimming

John Horsburgh  - Cycling

Jenny Whiteley - Royal Life Saving

Min Yi Du - Fencing


Team of the Year

Nicole Duncan and Keira Will - Cycling

NSW Pride Womens Team - Hockey

Penrith Panthers - Rugby League

Sydney Kings - Basketball

Sydney FC Women - Football


Team of the Year with a Disability

2023 Virtus Global Games Australian Equestrian Team - Equestrian

Cricket NSW Blind and Low Vision Cricket Team - Blind Cricket

Daniel Michel/Ashlee Maddern (Ramp operator)

Jamieson Leeson/Amanda Leeson (Ramp operator) - Boccia

NSW Cerebral Palsy Men's Football team - Cerebral Palsy Football

NSW Gladiators - Wheelchair Rugby


Organisation of the Year

Basketball NSW

Football NSW

Gymnastics NSW

NSW Goalball

Volleyball NSW


Event of the Year

FIBA Women's Asia Cup - Basketball

GIO Oz Day 10k 2023 - Wheelchair Road Racing

SLSNSW State Championships - Surf Life Saving

World Athletics Cross Country Championships - Athletics

World Pride Events - Inner West Council


Coach of the Year

Briony Akle - Netball

Matthew Horsnell - Athletics

Dzmitry (Dima) Kachan - Gymnastics

Adam Kingsley - AFL

Myriam Fox-Jerusalmi - Paddle


Official of the Year

Jemma Cook - Netball

Roz Grey OAM - Royal Life Saving

Pam Hockings - Bowls

Angus McKenzie-Wills - AFL

Peter Tomlinson - Cycling


Administrator of the Year

Andrew Bowden - Royal Life Saving NSW

Lorenzo Crepaldi - Football NSW

Annelise Rosnell - Northern NSW Football

Sandra Slattery - Surf Life Saving