2023 Sports Foyer NSW Community Sports Awards

Published Thu 25 May 2023

Buy Tickets Here

Sport NSW is delighted to celebrate  the announcement of our 2023 Sports Foyer NSW Community Sports Awards finalists.

Thanks to the support of Sport NSW members and the NSW sporting public, over 150 incredible nominations were submitted, recognising the outstanding achievements and contributions of community coaches, officials, administrators and organisations over the past year. This was the largest number of submissions in the history of the event.

The Finalists in the 12 Award Categories are:

Community Club of the Year Sport
Brighton Beach Volleyball Association Volleyball
Central West Gymsports Gymnastics
Hills Hornets Touch Football Association Touch Football
Parramatta City Swim Club Swimming
UNSW Hockey Hockey


Community Coach of the Year Sport
Amber Cross Netball
Christian Layland Football
Takae Yasutake Volleyball
Timothy Hill Basketball
Tom Rampoldi Surf Life Saving


Community Event of the Year Sport
2022 HART Senior State Titles Netball
Bowls NSW Women's State Carnival Bowls
Gymnastics NSW Country Championships Gymnastics
NSW Junior State Championships Rugby Union
NSW Touch Football Junior State Cup Touch Football


Community Official of the Year Sport
Alana Zic Football
Cheryl Burnett Little Athletics
Darren Forbes Paddle
Rozlynn Grey OAM Royal Life Saving
Sarah Willis Hockey
Zoe Turner Netball


Community Sport Administrator of the Year Sport
Andrew Bowden Royal Life Saving
Fiona Pak Poy Hockey
Grahame Searles Little Athletics
Michael Furfaro Football
Betty Hassen Wheelchair Sports


Community Team of the Year Sport
Doyalson Dragon Men's Open Touch Football
Equestrian NSW State Interschool Team Equestrian
Manly Warringah Under 18 Girls Basketball
North Cronulla Open Women's Beach Relay Team Surf Life Saving
North Shore United Opens Netball
The South West Sydney Academy of Sport SVSR Mini Crane Hire Volleyball Program South West Sydney Academy of Sport


Inclusive Achievement of the Year Sport
Basketball NSW Basketball
Cerebral Palsy Sporting and Recreation Association NSW CPSARA
Gymnastics NSW Gymnastics
Koori Netball Tournament Netball
Pasifica Youth Cup hosted by Sydney Junior Rugby Union Rugby Union


Innovation of the Year Sport
Blacktown City & District Cricket Association  Cricket
Darren Christopher - Marsden Park Galaxy FC Football
NSW Rugby Union Rugby Union
Live Heats - Surf Life Saving NSW Surf Life Saving


Local Council of the Year
Albury City Council
Blacktown City Council
Central Coast Council
Inner West Council
Wollondilly Shire Council


Volunteer Director of the Year Sport
Amanda Frazer Cricket
Bernard Tuaimau Rugby Union
Jodi Cassar Netball
Kiaran Lomas Paddle
Noel Raines Bowls


Young Coach of the Year Sport
Eloise Trueman Hockey
Elysa Oliveri Cricket
Jack Canning Rugby Union
Jasmine Taylor Softball


Young Official of the Year Sport
Fiorella Collins Little Athletics
Georigia Hughes Athletics
Isaak Wilson Swimming
Molly Godsell Football
Sarah McNamara Netball


Sport NSW is also pleased to announce the recipients of the prestigious Distinguished Long Service Awards for those that have given exceptional service to their sport for over 25 years.

Distinguished Long Service  Sport
Angelo Santangelo Fencing
Anita Keelan Netball
Barbara and Kevin Weimer Tennis
Bernadette Spedding Gymnastics
Bill Anderson Cricket
Chris Baker  Motorcycling
David Archbold Athletics
Dereck Fineberg Little Athletics
Eli Dememy Sailability
Gerry Knights South West Sydney Academy of Sport
Gwyn Mulholland Motorsport
Ian Matthew Touch Football
Jillian Long Hockey
Larry Brown Deaf Netball
Margaret and Allan Gregson Swimming
Margaret Beaumont Basketball
Maureen Worth Surf Life Saving
Mike Mackney Paddle
Steve Woodger Nothern NSW Football
Terry Bluett Orienteering
Terry Hellyer Archery


The winners of the awards will be revealed at a special ceremony on Thursday, 29 June 2023 at CommBank Stadium. The presentation ceremony will be hosted by the Hon. Stephen Kamper, Minister for Sport, who will also present the recipients of the Sport NSW Distinguished Long Service Award with special recognition for their exceptional service to sport.

Tickets to the event are now on sale here.

Congratulations to all finalists and Distinguished Long Service Award recipients, and thank you for your continued contribution to the sporting community in NSW.